The MHA Caregiver of the Year Award is presented annually by the Maine Hospital Association to recognize a caregiver from a member institution who, on a daily basis, demonstrates extraordinary commitment to the delivery of care to patients and their families.

Any caregiver from a member institution may be nominated. The winner must be able to attend the award ceremony the evening of Wednesday, June 20 at the Samoset Resort in Rockport, Maine.

Nominees should demonstrate the following characteristics:

  • exemplify extraordinary commitment to patients on a daily basis;
  • show compassion, empathy and respect in the delivery of care to patients and their families;
  • acknowledge and meet the unique physical, emotional and practical needs of patients and their families; and
  • promote an environment of cooperation and collaboration in which the expertise and experience of all healthcare professionals are available to patients.
Nominations for the 2018 Caregiver of the Year Award are now being accepted.  The deadline is Friday, April 27.  Submit your nomination form!
Click here for the MHA Caregiver of the Year nomination form.

Q. How do I submit a nomination?

A. Submit a nomination by completing this form.

Q. What is required of the nomination process?

A. Your name and contact information, the name of your nominee, and an essay of 500 words or less to explain why your nominee meets the criteria and three examples of how your nominee has gone above and beyond the call of duty in demonstrating an extraordinary committment to patient care.  You may also upload any supporting documentation, awards, articles, letters etc.

Q. Who may nominate someone to be Caregiver of the Year?

A. Anyone may nominate an employee of an MHA-member hospital to be the MHA Caregiver of the Year. However, the nomination requires three examples of going above and beyond the call of duty.  The people who would know of such examples are typically the nominee's co-workers.  If you are a patient who would like to nominate one of your caregivers, but don't have enough information to complete the nomination, we suggest conferring with that caregiver's co-workers. 

Q. I know the perfect person to nominate. However, I’m hesitant about my writing skills. What advice can you give? What are the judges looking for in a winning entry?

A: Having professional writing skills is not essential for writing a good entry. After giving a brief, but thorough, background on the nominee, remember to provide specific examples of why that person deserves the award. Does she go out of her way to help patients? Give an example. Does he always show his co-workers how special they are? Give an example. Is there one heroic or meaningful event that stands out in your mind? Be as descriptive as possible. Does your nominee participate in good works outside the hospital and her job? Tell us about them.  Remember, the judges don’t know your nominee as well as you do – that’s why an essay and examples are required. The entries that stand out above the others are those that describe the various reasons you and/or other co-workers believe the nominee is a hero.

Q. Must the nominee be a doctor or a nurse?

A. No, but successful Caregiver of the Year nominees do have direct contact with patients and their families.  Over the years, the award has gone to social workers, a rehabilitation therapist and a director of volunteer services in addition to doctors and nurses. 

Q. May I submit a postumous nomination?

A. No.  The awardee must be available to attend the opening banquet of MHA's Summer Forum on Wednesday, June 20 at the Samoset Resort in Rockport. 

Q. How is the the winner selected?

A.  MHA staff will narrow nominations to one from each hospital.  The final decision will be made by a committee.  The winner will be selected by May 25, 2018. 

Q. What does the winner receive?

A. The MHA Caregiver of the Year is honored at the Opening Banquet ofthe MHA Summer Forum on Wednesday, June 20 at the Samoset Resort in Rockport.  An award is presented and the awardee is given the opportunity to speak to MHA members.  The awardee will be invited to attend the rest of the conference, which ends on Friday, June 22.


Year  Name Hospital
2002  Suzanne Laliberte, RN Goodall Hospital
2003  Stephanie Schmermund, RN, BSN St. Joseph Hospital
2004  Dorothy Petersen, LCSW Miles Memorial Hospital
2005  Diane Frechette, RN, BSN, CNOR Southern Maine Medical Center
2006  Gregory Leach, MD Southern Maine Medical Center
2007  Francis Moore, Director of Rehabilitation Services Mayo Regional Hospital
2008  Janice Wood, RN Miles Memorial Hospital
2009  Mark Publicker, MD, Medical Director, Mercy Recovery Center Mercy Hospital
2010  William Legere, RN, ARNP Central Maine Medical Center
2011  Betty Walker, Director of Volunteer Services Cary Medical Center
2012  75th Anniversary Celebration, no award given  
2013  Margaret “Miki” MacDonald, FNP St. Joseph Hospital
2014  Charles Hendricks, MD Mount Desert Island Hospital
2015  Clayton Bell, MD Rumford Hospital
2016  Kelly Hughes Wheeler, RN Redington-Fairview General Hospital
2017  Lois Latour, LCSW Eastern Maine Medical Center